Daytime Education Program | Film Streams
Close Menu

Film Streams' cinemas are temporarily closed in consideration of public health concerns and community-wide efforts to slow the spread of COVID-19. MORE INFO

Daytime Education Program

Film Streams’ Daytime Education Program is a free program for teachers of grades 6-12 to integrate film into their curriculum. In addition to a free film screening, students are treated to a complimentary lunch, and post-show discussion with our Education Director or a local subject expert. Our program is designed to meet state standards in Media Arts as well as in individual subject areas.

2019-2020 Calendar

Program Objectives

Our program teaches film literacy and critical thinking while expanding appreciation for film as an art form. Post-film discussions are structured to achieve three goals that complement classroom learning:

  • Students learn to interpret films in a cultural context.
  • Students empathize with characters in ways beneficial to their own personal development.
  • Students analyze film as a medium of artistic expression.
The Logistics
  • Screenings typically begin at 11am and are followed by a guided post-show discussion ending no later than 2pm.
  • Students and teachers are treated to a free, healthy lunch.
  • Teachers are provided supplemental materials to utilize in the classroom before and after their visit.
  • Transportation reimbursement is available in a couple forms: 1) the Nebraska Arts Council School Bus for the Arts program, and 2) Film Streams’ School to Screen Transportation Grant, which allows a school to submit one or more applications per year for up to $500 maximum per school year.

For more information about our Daytime Education Program or to make a reservation, contact Film Streams Artistic Director Diana Martinez, PhD, at


Film Streams' Daytime Education Program is supported by grants from the Heider Family Foundation, the John W. Carson Foundation through the Nebraska Arts Council and Nebraska Cultural Endowment, the Gifford Foundation, the Ike and Roz Friedman Foundation, and Wells Fargo.

Film Streams Linocut

Film Streams Education Committee

Ron Azoulay (Khasma Group), Derek Babb (Omaha North High School), Mark Hoeger (University of Nebraska at Omaha), Michael Hollins (PACE), Kristen Job (Westside Middle School), Michael McCauley (Millard North High School), Tracey Menten (Central High School), Robert Patterson (Kids Can), Matt Rasgorshek (Creighton Prep), Julie Rowse (Bellevue West High School), Nancy Schlessinger (Lovely Skin), Katie Weitz, PhD (Weitz Family Foundation)

Give the Gift of Film

View Memberships